Sam Burns on wrong end of a questionable ruling
Digest more
Top News
Overview
Highlights
3h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Did Sam Burns get robbed of title shot by a 'temporary water' ruling?Like any savvy patient who gets a bad diagnosis, Sam Burns wanted a second opinion. When his drive on Oakmont’s par-4 15th hole stayed on the fairway next to the first cut, he seemed to catch a good break. But when Burns arrived at the ball, it looked and felt to him that it was sitting in standing water from the day’s earlier heavy rain storm.
Sam Burns and Adam Scott started the last round of the U.S. Open in the final group, one shot separating them in first and second place. They wrapped up the waterlogged action at Oakmont as
Sam Burns Plummets From Top Spot, Finishes T6
7h
Golf Digest on MSNU.S. Open 2025: Sam Burns did something very clever that nobody else noticedIt just showed a clever bit of awareness and foresight. In the heat of the pressure and the pouring rain, Burns stopped himself from making a potentially very costly error. It was a small moment, but the kind of decision that wins U.S. Opens.
With three rounds of the U.S. Open at Oakmont Country Club complete, Sam Burns holds a one shot lead and will look to close it out on Sunday and win his first major championship. Burns entered the weekend with the lead after finding ways to tame some of Oakmont's challenges, firing a 65 to move to -3 on the leaderboard.
Moving day at Oakmont Country Club saw Sam Burns take a one stroke lead at the U.S. Open. See how Round 3 went with updates and scores.
Sam Burns entered the final round of the 2025 U.S. Open in the lead, and it appeared he might be the only player to survive Oakmont. That was not the case.